performers.net forums

performers.net forums (http://www.performers.net/forums/index.php)
-   PROMO STUFF (MARKETING, MEDIA, ETC.) (http://www.performers.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   New reel, let me have it! (http://www.performers.net/forums/showthread.php?t=17873)

jared 09-05-13 09:18 PM

New reel, let me have it!

I've been using the same promo video for about three years now, I'm way over due for an update.. I've been working on this for the past week. Please let me know what you think!

http://youtu.be/DlhdJWphJXA

Isabella 09-06-13 12:43 PM

My perspective comes from being a booker for busker festivals and college events, but as always, I'm just one more person with an opinion :)

Overall, your video could be shorter and livelier. The music is slow and makes the video feel longer than it is. It's also in a minor key, so it's kind of "down" music. If your purpose is to highlight the "freak" aspects of your show, maybe go with even darker, more intense music. If you want to play up that you're funny and wacky, go lighter and into a major key.

It's hard to tell what your show actually is without watching the whole video (and most bookers won't).

Opening with the TV clip does help establish you as serious, but the "kama sutra" line as your first statement makes me think, "Will he be right for my family audience?"

I wish your costume was more interesting.

Subtitle on "intelligent" could be a larger font and stay a second longer.

There are places where your clips are long - for example, instead of starting at :51, you could start at :59 which is visually stronger and skips the standard, "Do you wanna see it" that everyone does. Plus, then we get the big laugh and assume it's laughing at you - right now it feels like someone in the audience said something funny I couldn't hear and that's where the laugh came from.