performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > BUSKING STUFF > FESTIVAL AND PITCH ETHICS

Old 03-22-12, 09:38 PM   #1
vodvill

Default Busking Permit fees at Festivals

I have been producing a busking festival in the US for over four years. Each year we spend a lot of time and money on marketing to get people to show up so our Buskers can make good hats. We have a list of hired acts at set pitches but have allowed any act to show up and take a space downtown that we don't use.

After struggling financially each year we have decided to ask the non hired acts to pay a small ($30) fee for the 3 days to help out and at least acknowledge that they get something from our festival. For this they get a permit and a listing on the web site about their act.

I have heard many arguments on whether this is legal, ethical, justified, etc. and I am interested in the majority opinion on this forum. Please tell me what you think.
Old 03-22-12, 10:13 PM   #2
Scot Free

Quote:
Originally Posted by vodvill View Post
We have a list of hired acts at set pitches but have allowed any act to show up and take a space downtown that we don't use.
Is it public space you've "left" for them? Have you payed for or rented said space? If not then you don't really have exclusivity to it... you could make your case and ask these acts to contribute but I don't see how you could force the issue. You may just have to deal with the Fly pitching.
Scot Free is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-12, 12:10 AM   #3
vodvill

It is public space so the word permit is not entirely appropriate. In the end We will not stop anyone from performing, we just want some support for making the event work for everyone.

Is that too much to ask?
Old 03-23-12, 08:53 AM   #4
sippy

In my opinion: