performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > BUSKING STUFF > BUSKING Q&A/GENERAL PERFORMING TOPICS

Old 12-30-05, 11:57 PM   #1
Isabella

Default Ethics of non-Compete

I'm curious as to what other performers think of this situation.

I run an act that I see as a waystation - I'm not a big enough deal for it to be anyone else's permanent livelihood as it is mine, but I work with younger people who are not independent performers on their own, and who learn skills and performance techniques from me before moving on to other things. I have ex-group members who are in Chicago or LA pursuing commercial and film careers, someone trying to get into Blue Man Group, someone who I'm helping make a solo show, one person joined the Peace Corps, one went on to grad school, etc. I generally get them from colleges I've been a guest artist at, or from people who approach me at festivals and want to learn how to do what we do.

People who work for me generally make a living wage equal to Equity minimum at the very least and often much higher for less work, plus tips which can be substantial and are equally split. I provide transportation to gigs, handle the lodging (either the client buys it or I structure our fee so that I can buy it - it's not standard in a lot of our venues), and sometimes pay tuition and expenses to workshops we attend to learn advanced skills. Each year I also take one college student intern who makes very little in pay (though still more than what an intern at a traditional theatre would make) and shares equally in tips, usually doubling the flat pay or more. I buy all costumes, props, and equipment and provide rehearsal space.

Our first couple of years as a company, the performers have been good, but the majority of our gigs have been gotten on my reputation as a 10-year+ performer in the venues that we mostly work in. I do all the booking, which I build into the fee I charge the client.