performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS... > TOOLS OF THE TRADE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-08, 11:24 AM   #1
Mario Morris
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 45
Default Head mike

I like to get a cordless head mike that runs on battearies that whould plug into my Fender amp can, any idears all addvise?
Mario
__________________
Keep on keeping on.
Mario Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 08:16 PM   #2
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

sennheiser sennheiser sennheiser....I should just become a rep for them and then I would earn some sort of commision.

Look up the EW 100 G2


search thru the forums for my other posts on this system. headset and reciever both work on AA batteries.

-Greg
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 01:27 AM   #3
Evan Young
Senior Member
 
Evan Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mid Atlantic (PA)
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via AIM to Evan Young
Default

I love my sennheiser set-up.
however...
sometimes I wish I had a sure system going because we have been to a lot of theaters where we could have just plugged our countryman mics into their transmitters for a much quicker tech set up.
I'm complicating things, just get the sennheiser. you want the system that is made for video cameras, it works for everything else as well.
__________________
--EvAN--

ka-pow!
www.globalevan.com
www.showoffshow.com
www.evanshotme.com
Evan Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 12:19 PM   #4
Josh Casey
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: McFarland, WI USA
Posts: 36
Default

I've been using the Shure UP4 for years. It's made for news cameras. The receiver is made of solid metal, it's built like a tank and very small. Can run off a 9volt or AC. It has always worked brilliantly.

For the mic I use the countryman E6 which is the perfect mic. If you haven't used one you're missing out. It's so light you forget it's even there.
Josh Casey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 08:42 PM   #5
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

there is a new headset on the market now that is better then the countryman.

it is the same quality mic but the best part of it is every bit of it is easily interchangable and can me replaced.

the connectors just unscrew and you can have different models for different units also the cord is interchangable.

this means if you need a different connector or need to replace a broken connection it is easier then repairing or soldering the whole thing, just unscrew the broken part and replace.

wicked!

I will update with the model number when I have a moment.
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 04:00 AM   #6
Mario Morris
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks
__________________
Keep on keeping on.
Mario Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-09, 09:00 AM   #7
dave walbridge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 333
Default

Great timing; I am replacing my shure mike.
__________________
David Walbridge

www.bigfunshow.com
www.procomedywriting.com
dave walbridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 07:15 AM   #8
Nee-Ra
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Im a new performer and am also looking at which mic to get, im using a borrowed samson at the moment but its not perticulaly secure on my dantity female head lol. Ive looked at the sennheiser on the web and it looks good, does it go round the back of your head instead of your neck? This would be good as im trying to put a hula neck move in my show. Also is there a wire between the battery pack and the headset?

p.s Also any thoughts on the Roland Cube Street amp for a good busking amp?
Nee-Ra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 05:39 PM   #9
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

I looked into the Street Cube and thought it was underpowered. I ended up with a Limo; it's more expensive and heavier, but powerful and versitile.
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 09:15 PM   #10
astral circus
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: cumbria uk
Posts: 9
Default

check this out, its fantastic http://www.stuffandthings.co.uk/pa.htm
astral circus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 09:21 PM   #11
astral circus
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: cumbria uk
Posts: 9
Default

i been useing a jts set up for radeo mike, it came with 2 mikes, 1 is very lightweight, you do not know its there, the other feels like your brain will be queezed out of your nostrals! buy its good for a spair, sounds not too bad, unfortunatly the receiver part (the bit that plugs in the amp) needs mains, so thats a bit poo, however its not a bad price, i got my self a small rechargeable power unit from Maplins (UK) for around 50, it can also charge from a cigerette lighter in your vehicle, good egg!
astral circus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-09, 02:19 AM   #12
Doctor Eric
Senior Member
 
Doctor Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Inner Bowels of Roseanne Arnold
Posts: 955
Default

Who broke your spelling? This thread was finished, the minute someone said "sennheiser"
__________________
?!*@!!*%?!!?@!$#%!?*?!?!

!?www.ericcash.com?!
Doctor Eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-09, 02:11 AM   #13
Devinthejuggler
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 74
Blog Entries: 2
Default

im so excited to get my new mic which is the sennheiser 100 gt2. so unbeleivably expensive in my country, but oh do i look forward to having a voice at the end of the day.

it seems like THE one.
Devinthejuggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-09, 08:39 AM   #14
Nee-Ra
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

the senhiser looks the best but the samson is winning due to the transmitter being part of the headset. Are there any others like this? I could do with not having a battery pack and wire attached to me...
Nee-Ra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-09, 08:59 AM   #15
gav
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: zagreb
Posts: 916
Default

This summer I tried to fix Pete sweets countryman but the cable was way too small for my big clumsy fingers. Later in the summer I took a good look at someone else's DB headset. It looked exactly the same as the countryman and only costs 50 euros !!!!!! I couldn't distinguish a difference in sound quality either. I really think countryman is ripping people off hundreds of dollars for a generic product they import from china cheaply.
gav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-09, 03:42 PM   #16
Flyin' Bob
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 94
Default

In response to Nee-Ra:
I'm very partial to the Sampson Airliner. But this is directly related to my show(s)

I do a hang from a tightwire where my pants come off and cannot have a belt pack attached.
I also roll around on the ground. A belt transmitter would be destroyed.

One con for the Airliner: If you do any face balancing and need your head tilted back, the transmitter gets squeezed between the back of your head and top of your shoulders. It can be really annoying.
__________________
everybody's fool
Flyin' Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-09, 04:17 PM   #17
Doctor Eric
Senior Member
 
Doctor Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Inner Bowels of Roseanne Arnold
Posts: 955
Default

Where did you run into Pete, Gav? How is he? By the way, I roll/gyrate on the ground all the time, have never managed to hurt my sennheiser transmitter.
__________________
?!*@!!*%?!!?@!$#%!?*?!?!

!?www.ericcash.com?!
Doctor Eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 01:04 AM   #18
gav
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: zagreb
Posts: 916
Default

We had Pete down in Croatia for a couple of gigs in June and then he came to hang with us at our island retreat with the Dare devil Chickens. We had a great time.
I think he's planning to winter in Edmonton with his girlfreind there.

I use samson airline also, and have only once had a problem with signal cross over with another act. I originaly chose it because I would give it to my volunteer at 1 part of the show. I no longer do that but I kept it anyway for ease of use.
gav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 06:09 AM   #19
Nee-Ra
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

This is my problem, i do acro in my show. Does it stay on your head ok when u r upside down and rolling around?
Nee-Ra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-09, 06:48 AM   #20
gav
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: zagreb
Posts: 916
Default

The samson stays on during handstands, but I don't have first hand experience with flips and saults. The point is though that you can take it off and put it back on easily before and after doing those things.
gav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.