performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > BUSKING STUFF > BUSKING Q&A/GENERAL PERFORMING TOPICS

Old 04-05-09, 09:25 AM   #1
Chad

Default Working on a new show

So, I didn't start out as a magician. I was a juggling, stilt walking, fire show & balloons guy for a couple of years.

Funny, but it took a while before I realised that I could make money with magic (which I'd been messing around with since around 2nd grade).

Well, I've been working on magic show routines for 3 years now and finally have one that is completely original.

I tried it out 3 weekends ago and did some $10-$30 hats, so I thought "Ok, it's got some potential". Well, I'm a part-timer and can't get out to the pitch as often as I'd like. So, yesterday I got back out, only I had a bunch of changes/improvements to the show.

First show was rough, I had to set up away from the main pitch and a live band drowned me out (didn't bring my sound system like an idiot). I made a $3 hat.

2nd show a percussionist that usually will rotate, starts his "bucket drumming on steroids" half way through my show and I lose my audience and squeek away with a $13 hat.

3rd show was free of all distraction and I made $20 & change. It got late and cold for the 4th show and I was back to a $13 hat...no music interruptions again...just a smaller crowd.

So, it sucks starting over with a new show and trying to figure out what actually works and what only sounds funny while you're set up in front of the mirror and writing corny jokes.

But, I think this show will be the one I perform for the next 20 years or so. I really love it and am proud to have something that's completely original.

The show I did last season was also completely original (and did hats 4x the size...which still ain't much...but better than the squat I was pulling in last night). However, the last show I was doing was a pain in the butt to lug around and took a LOT of friggin' energy to perform.