performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS... > PROMO STUFF (MARKETING, MEDIA, ETC.)

Old 12-23-09, 06:12 PM   #1
Bob Carr

Default Making a web site.... need help

Hello

I have been performing for the last 10 years or so. Mostly on the street. Now it is time to make a web site and promo package. The joy of working the street is you dont really need all that crap.

I have had a couple web sites before. The first was made for me and got out dated really quick. Then I had trouble with hosting. The last couple I made myself, but I didnt really know what I was doing. Now that I am starting to have a clue, I start by asking you.

I understand the concept of my show being a product and I am selling it. The problem starts with who am I selling this product to. Like most of you out there, I'll take what ever work comes my way. I no longer want a passive roll in that.

So my question is, what is really needed on a web page and what should a promo package include. I would like to make both together so that they look good together.
Old 12-23-09, 07:38 PM   #2
Isabella

Some general design/content questions worth answering:

What is the goal of the site?

Who are we trying to please? If it's the boss, what does she want? Is impressing a certain kind of person important? Which kind?

Who are we trying to reach? Is it everyone? Our customers? A certain kind of prospect?

What are the sites that this group has demonstrated they enjoy interacting with?

Are we trying to close sales?

Are we telling a story?

Are we earning permission to follow up?

Are we hoping that people will watch or learn?

Do we need people to spread the word using various social media tools?

Are we building a tribe of people who will use the site to connect with each other?

Do people find the site via word of mouth? Are they looking to answer a specific question?

Is there ongoing news and updates that need to be presented to people?