performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > THE GREEN ROOM > BLAH, BLAH, BLAH...

Old 11-14-10, 01:29 PM   #1
loki

Default clown in need of advice

I'm new to clowning, I can do some sideshow acts, juggle and ride a unicycle, I went to mooseburgers, I'm in the shrine clown unit, we do acts in a our circus and i'm getting experiance and learning more stuff everyday. My dream is to be a ringling clown, if even only for a year. I'm 37 now and just went to see the zing zang zoom ringling bros. circus. The clowns all looked super young and were doing a bunch of acrobatic flips and stuff. Am I to old to pursue this dream? What happened to the ringling clowns that were clowns for decades, is that a thing of the past now? I want to travel with a circus for a season or more, and really want to make it to ringling brothers one day. Where do I go from here?
loki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-10, 10:09 PM   #2
Mike Weakley

You need to send a video and any other promo material to:

Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Attention: Mr. David Kiser
8607 Westwood Center Drive
Vienna, Virginia 22182

In addition, you can also send all your info to:

Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus
Talent and Production Department
1313 17th Street East
Palmetto, FL 34221

Ringling holds clown auditions periodically throughought the year. They just finished a series of them about a month or 2 ago. Not sure when the next one will be, but you should really try to go to one if you're serious about getting on the show. Go to www.ringling.com/clown to get more information on the auditions.

Most of the clowns on the Ringling show are definitely younger than you. But if you have the right look & material, your age wouldn't disqualify you. The days of Ringling clowns staying on the show for decades ended decades ago. Nowadays, you're considered "an old timer" if you've been there 5 years.