performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > BUSKING STUFF > BUSKING Q&A/GENERAL PERFORMING TOPICS

Old 06-30-11, 08:16 PM   #1
Irina

Question Question to balloon twisters/face-painters/caricaturists and other "festival artists"

Hi, I am a professional face-painter, working mostly as street artist/party artist and festival vendor, but occasionally I get into BuskerFests, which let me in for 'mutually free" , but I only can work for tips...I am not really used to that, IMHO festival organisers have to pay me basic salary if they expect me to work for tips, but if I have nothing better on that weekend - I take these gigs too. I need some advice on how to let customers know that I will do large designs only if I get certain minimum in tips? (We are talking about situations where I can't post "suggested donation 5-20$" sign.) English is my second language, and I really need a good phrazing which will not annoy festival organisers, but save me from spending 5 minutes and expensive make-up and cosmetic grade glitter on a customer who will just give me some change or nothing. (When I "street perform on public property" without Big Brother watching, I just tell people how much it is - or negitiate, but I already got thrown out of Taste Of Chicago, so I am getting really causious about not annoying the management...Thanks for your suggestions!
Irina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-11, 10:11 PM   #2
Mr Qwirk
... ___ ...

I never used to give balloons away for tips.

people are used to buying tangible objects. just let them know how much the balloons cost, so everything is straight up. people like that. tell them what you can make, and for how much.
Mr Qwirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-11, 05:54 AM   #3
Isabella

As you sit the kid down to get painted -

"Most people tip about X dollars, up to Y dollars, depending on how complicated the design is - are you looking for something quick and simple or would you like me to get fancy?"