performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > BUSKING STUFF > BUSKING Q&A/GENERAL PERFORMING TOPICS

Old 12-13-00, 08:24 PM   #1
Butterfly Man
Refurbished Member

Post Acting vs. Street Performing

I just received this e-mail from Brett Copes and I was wondering if anyone else had any input (my response will follow) :

"My Name is Brett Copes of the COMMIDIOTS. Some of you know me and some do
not. I am a fellow Street Performer.

Taylor Mathews, who saw my show in HALIFAX sent me this question, and I thought some
of my friends/peers in the biz could help to answer it for Taylor. It has
sparked quite an interest on the FANS page of our website. It has sparked
my on interest as well.

"I'm studying theatre right now and I was just curios as to why someone who
is obviously so intensly focused on acting as you seem to be would be doing
street theatre?"
--Taylor Mathews

If you want to send me a quick responce, at your leisure, it would be much
appreciated
--Brett Copes "
Old 12-13-00, 08:28 PM   #2
Butterfly Man
Refurbished Member

Brett,
I agree, it's an interesting question.

I could probably discuss many different aspects comparing the theater to actual street performing but I think the answer to the question can be found in what theatrical training can provide in way of preparation for a performance, street or otherwise.

The basics of strong stage presence is the development of good acting techniques. These (techniques) would necessarily be thinking, feeling, speaking and moving in character.