performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS... > TOOLS OF THE TRADE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-06, 09:24 AM   #1
The Renaissance Man
Senior Member
 
The Renaissance Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 127
Default Mac Airport Question

There's an open wireless signal near my house which I can access, or could...

Dunno why, but the little bars on the Airport symbol at the top of the screen registers a signal, but I cannae access the net no mo'.

Ideas?

Thanks in advance

Chris
The Renaissance Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-06, 10:56 AM   #2
Jim
Your Host
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 1,093
Blog Entries: 6
Default

The owner of the signal probably added a password to the network. Looks like you're going to have to find another signal.
__________________
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-06, 11:38 AM   #3
The Renaissance Man
Senior Member
 
The Renaissance Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 127
Default

Yeah, but then wouldn't something come up looking for the password?
The Renaissance Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-06, 01:54 PM   #4
thayr
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to thayr
Apple Mac WiFi

I've got a Mac also. Sometimes I pick up WiFi signals coming from other people. I think if they have it password protected you are prompted to enter the password as soon as you select that airport connection from the menu. If you get signal bars but no net you could try getting closer to the signal... other than that I'm not sure.

I've actually spent many combined hours walking through fields trying to get a better signal. Ah, the joys of wireless internet. When I grow tired of pacing the fields I usually try to find a Starbucks or coffee shop type place that offers wireless internet access.
thayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-06, 02:43 PM   #5
scot
Senior Member
 
scot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 1,169
Send a message via AIM to scot
Default

The bars represent a network connection: i.e. you are connected to his house hold network and any computers therein.

The bars do not represent an internet (world wide network) connection: i.e. his household network is not connected to the internet. His computer is probably not connected to the internet.

If you needed a password, you would get no bars -- just a password prompt.

Call your neighbor and ask him to connect to the internet again.

man, that's a long answer.
__________________
scot@jugglegood.com
scot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-06, 04:32 PM   #6
gav
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: zagreb
Posts: 916
Default

Essentialy you have the right answer to the problem. Whoever is putting out the signal is not online.
But on a Mac the bars represent the wifi signal strength and are there regardless of whether the network is password protected or not.
gav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-06, 06:47 PM   #7
The Renaissance Man
Senior Member
 
The Renaissance Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 127
Default

Looks like I'd done it to myself with Little Snitch, a prgrm to tell you when another prgrm is trying to send content you might not want sent.

All fixed now.
The Renaissance Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.