performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > BUSKING STUFF > BUSKING Q&A/GENERAL PERFORMING TOPICS

Old 07-08-06, 02:31 AM   #1
LarsLarsen

Send a message via AIM to LarsLarsen
Default Idiots stealing your performance area

I am very new to street performing, and I barely have an act put together, but I am drawing crowds and getting a positive response from them. The thing is I've already run into a serious problem.

A group of hippies (the kind you can smell from 50 feet away) from a local commune have started showing up every week where I perform and just set up and do their show right in my spot. They just assume I want to "join their circus". The first time they showed up I thought it might help me to build a bigger crowd having all these hula-hooping and poi spinning freaks around, so I agreed to take turns with them, they do their act, then I do mine and so on. This was a colossal beginners mistake, but now I am too polite to ask them to find their own spot. I even moved to a different spot this week, and they followed me there! I think they see my minor success and are trying to latch on to me or something.