performers.net forums  

Go Back   performers.net forums > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS... > TOOLS OF THE TRADE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-08, 10:28 PM   #1
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default Sound systems. . .again

Anyone used or heard about the Alesis TransActive Mobile PA System with iPod Dock?
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-08, 03:03 PM   #2
Isabella
Senior Member
 
Isabella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kalamazoo-zoo-zoo-zoo, USA
Posts: 403
Default

No, but if it's good, I want to know!

A
Isabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-08, 01:18 AM   #3
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

this unit is crap...
I tested one out a few months ago.

the cube is also no good.

the best out there is still the limo as far as I can tell.

I have heard rumors of a new amp out there with a built in extenda pole and wheels, but I have not been able to find it.
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-08, 07:36 AM   #4
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

What didn't you like about it?
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-08, 09:09 PM   #5
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

I think mostly is was comestics.

it seemed wobbly...the wheels would likely break off with the use we streetperformers would give it making you carry this bulky thing. It is about twice the size of a crate, but less power than the limo.

and unless you have a cover or something for the unit, I forsee the ipod dock getting damaged relatively quickly.

It is also a 22 watt system making even the crate tx-30 a better bargain.
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-08, 12:20 PM   #6
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thaks for the info, Frisbee. I've since read a review that said the volume was really sub-par.
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~

Last edited by Stephon; 04-21-08 at 12:14 PM.
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-08, 08:53 PM   #7
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

.................................................. ...
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________

Last edited by Frisbee; 03-23-08 at 09:13 PM.
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-08, 09:20 PM   #8
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Looks pretty nice!

I found a dealer right near my house--I'm gonna go check it out tomorrow or Tuesday.

Thanks!
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 12:25 PM   #9
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

This is becoming a real study in frustration.

I bought the one Frisbee mentioned (then removed (?)); my impression from the sites was that it had a built-in UHF receiver.

Turns out it doesn't--that's another $200. Also turns out the receiver deosn't even receive in the frequency range my body pack uses.

(Set it up with my system to check it out--The volume was decent. Very little tone control, tho, and no ipod input. Reasonably lightweight.)

So what I'm wondering is--if performers are using battery-powered speakers, how are they powering their receivers? If you're plugging in your receiver somewhere, what do you need a battery-powered speaker for?

And what didn't you like about the Cube?

Thanks.
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 01:52 PM   #10
Isabella
Senior Member
 
Isabella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kalamazoo-zoo-zoo-zoo, USA
Posts: 403
Default

Daniel Craig has a good small system where he has a battery and inverter rigged up to have a plug for the receiver and a battery-powered amp.

We do two things -

1) Use a can amp where the mic is a wired handheld and we plug it right into the amp, which is battery powered. Or we shout.

2) use our full sound system and tell the client we need power, which sometimes means begging a shop to let us run a long extension cord.

Neither of these is ideal, but I have yet to find a battery-powered system that can take three wireless receivers and not be heinous to lug around. One person might have more luck - Daniel's system was small and light.
Isabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 07:57 PM   #11
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thanks, Allison.

The system I was talking about--the Azden APS 25b--is portable and will take 3 different UHF or VHF receiver inputs, if you're willing to spend the money.
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 08:35 PM   #12
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

I removed that post with the intention of updating it, thought I had and now realize that I had not and in fact did nothing but erase the post I had made.

What I wanted to say is I think I found the way to go.

it is a sound system by MiPro.

It seems to be mighty powerful, rechargeable and have great sound.

Check it out:

http://www.avlex.com/pdfs/new_2004/MA_705_e.pdf

There is a more powerful one with 170W, but the weight is almost 50lbs this one is only 21 lbs and is more then powerful enough for the streets or festivals.

Sorry Stephon for my blank message.
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 12:24 AM   #13
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thanks, Frisbee.

I took a quick look at it, and although it looks good, I have the same problem--it doesn't receive in the right range for the tranmitter I already have. I don't want to have to buy a new one.
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 01:26 AM   #14
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

Stephon,

what type of transmitter do you have?

Do you have a seperate transmitter/reciever unit or did you have something integrated.

it seems with the mipro system, you do not need to have a receiver/mic built in.

I still find the crate systems to be the best, but the tx15 is too little and the tx50 feels to big and bulky...oh how I miss my tx30....

For mic. I am currently still using a sennheiser wireless ew100g2 system. and I swear by them, the are durable diecast metal and reliable.

both the transmitter and receiver run on 2 AA batteries and then I have multiple connectors to plug into anytype of sound system.

1/4, 1/8 or xlr balanced and unbalanced.

also I find that a lot of the stage gigs I do, they also run on Sennheiser rack systems and you can just adjust your transmitter to their frequency.
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 08:37 AM   #15
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

It's an audio-technica ATW-T51 transmitter, fixed frequency at 735.95 MHz, with matching receiver. I also have a variety of plug types/sizes.

I have the Peavey portable PA system, but I was looking for something battery operated with an optional onboard receiver, so I could go completely without a power outlet.

I looked at the specs on the Mipro a little more, and now I'm unsure about the frequency range of the receiver; their pdf said the channels picked up in the 600s range, but another site said the range was from the 600s to the 900s.

I've decided to run a string from a tin can to several hundred other tin cans and hand them out to the audience.
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-08, 08:54 AM   #16
gav
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: zagreb
Posts: 916
Default

Seeing as you already have the peavey and mic, why don't you just buy a 12volt battery and an inverter(converts 12v into 110v).
Saves you cash in the long run.
gav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-08, 08:50 AM   #17
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thanks for the suggestion, Gav--I might do that.

Mostly, I was looking for a self-contained system that would be fewer pieces and easier to transport.
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-08, 09:17 PM   #18
Frisbee
Senior Member
 
Frisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 753
Default

have you seen the ew100g2.

all you need is your amp and your wireless mic...both transmitter and receiver are no bigger than a pack of cigarettes.

both run on aa batteries...

plugs into any kind of system

EW100g2

alrighty....I wont say it again...

maybe once more.

EW100g2
__________________
_____________________________
THE GREG FRISBEE SHOW
Comedy Juggler | Variety Performer

www.FrisbeeShow.com
_____________________________
Frisbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-08, 12:37 AM   #19
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Was that the Roland Cube or the Cube Street that you checked out and didn't like?
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-08, 05:16 PM   #20
Stephon
Handonmy Member
 
Stephon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 651
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Frisbee
ew100g2.

EW100g2

EW100g2
I thought those only worked vith video cameras. There's a way to run it into an amp?

(not that I have $1000 to get it, anyway, but still, curious)
__________________

Swami Yomahmi
~The Original Sideshow Geek~
Stephon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.